Close this search box.

AFCON 2023: Cameroon vs Sénégal match Preview, Analysis, possible lineup

The upcoming Group C match between Cameroon and Sénégal marks the fifth time these teams have faced off in the Africa Cup of Nations.

Their previous meeting in the group stage produced a Senegal victory in 1990 while Cameroon emerged victorious in their three knockout matches notebly in thé 1992 quarter-finals, the 2002 final, and the 2017 quarter-finals.

The Defending champions Senegal impressed in their opening game, dispatching Gambia 3-0 thanks to Pape Gueye’s early opener and a brace from Lamine Camara and will be hoping to get a second win.

But Standing in their way are Cameroon, who could only draw their first game against Guinea. Mohamed Bayo put Guinea ahead after 10 minutes, before Frank Magri headed in an equaliser early in the second half.

Cameroon will rely on Georges-Kévin Nkoudou’s ability to create opportunities, as he tallied seven impressive chances in their opening match against Guinea.

On Sénégal’s side, Sadio Mané and Ismaïla Sarr will be key as they recorded an assist each in their
win over Gambia, and have assisted four (two each) of Senegal’s last five goals at the Africa Cup of Nations.

A win for Sénégal would guarantee their advancement to the next stage, but a victory for Cameroon would keep them in the run while a defeat for Cameroon will complicate their chances of moving forward

Senegal and Cameroon’s AFCON Squads


Mory Diaw, Seny Dieng, Édouard Mendy, Kalidou Koulibaly, Youssouf Sabaly, Ismail Jakobs, Formose Mendy, Abdoulaye N’Diaye, Abdou Diallo, Fodé Ballo-Touré, Abdoulaye Seck, Moussa Niakhaté, Krépin Diatta, Idrissa Gueye, Pathé Ciss, Cheikhou Kouyaté, Nampalys Mendy, Lamine Camara, Pape Gueye, Pape Sarr, Sadio Mané, Habib Diallo, Nicolas Jackson, Boulaye Dia, Ismaïla Sarr, Iliman Ndiaye, Abdallah Sima.

Coach: Aliou Cissé


André Onana, Fabrice Ondoa, Dévis Epassy, Simon Ngapandouetnbu, Nouhou Tolo, Junior Tchamadeu, Oumar Gonzalez, Darlin Yongwa, Christopher Wooh, Harold Moukoudi, Jean-Charles Castelletto, Enzo Tchato, Malcom Bokélé, Yvan Neyou, Oli
vier Kemen, Frank Anguissa, Ben Elliott, Wilfried Nathan Douala, Olivier Ntcham, Karl Toko-Ekambi, Frank Magri, Vincent Aboubakar, Moumi Ngamaleu, Faris Moumbagna, Leonel Ateba, Georges-Kévin Nkoudou, Clinton N’Jie.

Source: Cameroon News Agency